Educators and Teachers Honored for Environmental Excellence

UPDATE (3/23/2020) : A message to our MEEC community on COVID-19
March 17, 2020
2020/2021 EE Mini Grant Application Period Now Open
September 1, 2020

Educators and Teachers Honored for Environmental Excellence

Each year, MEEC comes together to honor and recognize High Desert teachers and students for their outstanding commitment to environmental and STEM education. Although we were unable to gather to celebrate their accomplishments, MEEC was pleased to honor these outstanding individuals.

MEEC recognized Susan Christina from Brentwood Elementary in Victorville as MEEC’s 2019-2020 Teacher of the Year.  MEEC also recognized Cathy Andre of Brentwood Elementary, Victorville and Terri Eddy, Maple Elementary, Hesperia as this year’s Teachers of Excellence.  In recognition of their dedication and hard work in fostering environmental awareness in the classroom, the teachers each received a cash prize, and plaque Winners were nominated by their principals, colleagues and community members and selected by MEEC’s Executive Board.

Four High Desert students have been recognized as MEEC Students of the Year in recognition of their commitment to promoting environmental awareness and positive change within their schools and communities.  The students were nominated by their teachers and principals for their efforts in environmental leadership and stewardship.  Each student received a trophy, a $60 check and a $60 Staples gift card. The 2019-2020 Students of the Year are: Alyson Carrillo-Polanco, Brentwood Elementary, Victorville; Bethany Macias, Melva Davis Academy, Adelanto; Alexis Ollick, Daisy Gibson School, Palmdale; Natalie Ortiz, George Visual and Performing Arts, Adelanto.



Bethany Macias




Natalie Ortiz





Alyson Carrillo-Polanco





Five recipients have been awards MEEC’s High School Environmental/Science Scholarship.  Each recipient will receive a $2,500 scholarship towards their educational goals of pursuing a career in environmental science, engineering or closely related field. This years recipients are: Valentina Costarelli, Quartz Hill High School Lancaster; Melody Hines, Barstow High School, Barstow; Yuna Oh, Apple Valley High School, Apple Valley; Haley Ramstorf, Yucca Valley high School, Yucca Valley; Nesha Subramaniam, Apple Valley High School, Apple Valley

Comments are closed.